Libra season ♎️ & RHOSLC [Like You Know Whatever]

Is an end to the strike near?

Hi friends!

How are you doing? I’m not bad! I am doing considerably better than when I wrote to you last week, when I was dealing with a whole bunch of bureaucratic bullshit: healthcare, the unemployment office, student loans. It just felt like every problem I had to solve was some ridiculous multi-part quest. Do you ever have weeks like that? Don’t get me wrong, I’m still working on a few of those issues, but I’m in a much better place now. Maybe it’s because Mercury finally went direct, I don’t know (more astrology nonsense later!).

Last Sunday was my seventh wedding anniversary with my husband, Ross, although he had to travel that day for work, so we mostly celebrated the night before. We had a fabulous dinner at the Hippo “sponsored” by both sets of parents (thank youuu!), then went out dancing with friends. I wasn’t really feeling the music at the dance club, though, which was just a house beat. Last time I was there, they were playing pop music, which is much more my speed. I need lyrics!! I need my pop girlies!! Okay, fine, maybe I just need Beyoncé.

On Sunday morning, we exchanged gifts. We always like to try to do something on theme, and apparently, the seventh anniversary is for “wool and copper.” I got him a nice Pendleton blanket in the same black and red lumberjack print as our wedding invites (wool), and he got me a beautiful rose gold necklace (copper). It is so sparkly!! I love it! He also got my rose gold engagement ring fixed. It’s a Victorian antique, with tiny pieces of turquoise and pearl (I hate diamonds, and we were moving to L.A. at the time, so I loved that it had something from the desert and something from the sea). But the stones are always falling out, because I am a modern woman who cooks and scoops the litterbox and talks with her hands too much, instead of, idk, sitting quietly in a drawing room and sewing, or playing the piano-forte wistfully?? I love this ring so much, but I do wish it were a bit sturdier. I only wear it on special occasions now. Be forewarned, if you are considering an antique for your engagement ring.

Man, though, I gotta give a shoutout to Padani Jewelers in Studio City for the beautiful jewelry! Our friend and his family own the business, and they are wonderful. Go see them if you are looking for a special gift!

As I write this, there are rumblings that the WGA may be near a deal with the studios, and SAG-AFTRA may follow in early October. I hope so! I know that I and many other people would love the opportunity to work again, in this industry which has been at a total standstill for months. I also NEED the new season of Severance! What happens next? What was up with the goats? I’m dying to find out!

This is probably going to be a pretty short newsletter, because frankly, I just don’t have that much to write about this week! I’m having a bit of a block, to be honest, which is why this newsletter is late. I need to get some rest and refill the well.

That said, let’s get into a few things:

- Tomorrow, Saturday 9/23, we welcome the beginning of Libra season!! Libras are charismatic, diplomatic, social, fashionable, charming, justice-and-equality-minded, peacemakers. They love to be surrounded by art and luxury and beauty, and have exquisite taste. Nobody likes to go shopping more than a Libra. They can also be intellectuals, and social justice is also very important to them. They are all about balance and fairness and considering every possible viewpoint (which is why they’re known for being indecisive). They thrive in relationships (their ruling planet is Venus), and as a cardinal sign, can make great leaders and managers–but because of their indecision, they can also be commitment-phobic. Everyone thinks that Libra is flirting with them, when Libra is only being nice. They love to talk and gossip and overthink things, and usually have too many friends. They HATE conflict and always seek to fix it as soon as possible, which is why they’re often people pleasers.

Famous Libras include Kim Kardashian (wanting to be a lawyer is very Libra), Bruce Springsteen (empathy for the working man, hello?), Usher (flirty/charisma is off the charts), and Mark Rothko (hello, aesthetics!). I am a Libra, and I mostly identify with it: I hate conflict, I love art and shopping and gossip, I consider my friends family, and I’m a bleeding heart liberal. Where I disconnect is when people talk about Libras as being these extroverted social butterflies–I am social, but I am definitely an introvert. And I don’t know that I’m super relationship-driven unless I’m with someone I’m totally obsessed with, but in my opinion, that relates more to my Venus placement anyway (which is Scorpio, same as my husband).

So, anyway, how best to celebrate Libra season? Go shopping for something that adds nothing but beauty to your home! Join a picket line! Go to a party and flirt with everyone there, but leave with no one! Spend way too long picking a nail polish color! Read some poetry or philosophy! Museum date! Yoga! Sparkle, Neely, sparkle!

- The Real Housewives of Salt Lake City, season four (Bravo, Peacock). Honestly, I was not very hopeful about this season of SLC. I watched the first two episodes very begrudgingly. Last season was a mess, with scammer Jen Shah maintaining her innocence all season and playing the victim just to ultimately plead guilty at the last second. It was dark and awkward and frankly, pretty boring (Jen couldn’t leave the country, so their big cast trip was to San Diego… snooze). And then, when I heard they were adding Angie K. to the cast (yuck) and Mary Cosby as a friend-of (double yuck), I was even less hopeful about this season being different. I know that many people think that Mary’s wacky and funny, but I’ve always found her to be very snobby and ignorant and problematic in an off-putting way. Don’t get me wrong, a LOT of the Housewives are problematic, but something about Mary in particular just rubs me the wrong way, like she thinks she’s better than everyone else. Also, she believes weird conspiracy theories, like that carbonated water hardens your ovaries, which is insane.

All that said… I have to admit, after the most recent episode (S4 E3), I actually have great hope for this season of SLC! It was absolutely unhinged and chaotic, but in a fun and hilarious way! I love that they went to the Trixie Motel in Palm Springs, which I have been dying to go to (rooms start at like $500 a night, so yeah, I have not been). Angie crashing a trip that she wasn’t invited on and then having the gall to be offended about the host being chilly with her is the kind of classic Housewives delulu that makes this show so great. Heather is back to being her fun, voice-of-reason self, Meredith’s clearly Adderalled out, British accent persona is fascinating, and I LOVE the addition of Monica, what a breath of fresh! Monica feels like a Jersey girl to me–blunt and funny and real. I don’t think she is, though. I also am forced to admit that Mary is much more palatable as a quirky friend-of than she ever was as a full-time Housewife. Angie K. and Whitney both irk me, but I get that they are necessary for the “story engine,” as it were. I will continue to watch, god help me!!

- I have been reading a lot of Reddit this week (I know, I know, I know). Mostly because I am addicted to drama, so I love reading r/relationships and r/AmITheAsshole and similar subs about interpersonal conflict (again: Libras love gossip). I have learned some horrifying things, like: some people willingly drink turpentine (TW: child abuse)! People can still be bride- and groomzillas, even 25 years later! And some people give their children truly tragic names! W I L D!

Okay, that’s it for now!

Don’t forget to like, comment, and share this newsletter if you’d like–you can use the buttons at the bottom or the top. You can also upgrade to a paid subscription if you want more content–there’s a special button for you at the bottom of this email!

Until next time—refill the well.

Love,LizXOXO

Reply

or to participate.