Cool coyotes šŸ˜Ž & evil dolls [Like You Know Whatever]

Soo many TV & movie recs.

Hi friends!

How are you?? Iā€™m doing swell. As I begin to write this, Iā€™m out in the desert againā€“the Yucca Valley, to be exact, about 10 minutes away from Joshua Tree National Park. My drive down here from L.A. was slightly terrifying because there were high winds, and our little compact car tends to get blown around near the wind farms anyway. (Have you ever seen a wind farm? I think theyā€™re quite beautiful, actually, although I know conservatives feel a way about them.) I listened to the same album two and a half times because I was too scared to move my hands from 10 and two on the steering wheel!

But I finally made it to my Airbnb, just in time to watch the sunset (thank goodness, because I hate driving these barely marked dirt roads in the dark). The colors of the desert are so beautiful to me. The houses are so spread out here that the views are just insane. And Iā€™ve already gotten some work done! One thing that I didnā€™t realize until I checked in is that thereā€™s no TV here, so I canā€™t even be distracted by Netflix. Perfect.

One trendy design element I keep noticing in hotels and Airbnbs is that nobody seems to want a fully enclosed shower anymore. The shower here only has a half pane of glass protecting you from splashing water all over the damn bathroom, and Iā€™ve been in other places recently where the showers were completely open. Yeah, it looks cool, but you end up getting water everywhere! So impractical. Whatā€™s so bad about hanging up a shower curtain with a cute design? Jeez.

The one thing about the desert that gets me every time is the silence. It fills up my ears like water. I had so much trouble falling asleep last night without any noise. Then, every time there was a tiny sound in the night, I would go, ā€œWhat was that?ā€ and start replaying the plot of Barbarian in my head. Itā€™s funny, you would think the silence would make it easier to sleepā€“we always sleep with a white noise machine because our neighbors are often too loud. But then, does white noise function differently than silence? One is the presence of sound, one is the absence of it. Hmmmm!

Another thing I love about the desert is getting to see wildlife all around me. Iā€™ve already seen a rabbit, some chipmunks, and this morning I had to pause in the middle of my online therapy session to yell, ā€œOh, shit, itā€™s a coyote!ā€ when one walked by. I know weā€™re not supposed to like coyotes because in L.A., they often prey on outdoor pets, but I think theyā€™re pretty cool, the way they slink around like jazz musicians. I donā€™t really think people should have outdoor pets anyway, but thatā€™s a somewhat controversial opinion.

Update now that Iā€™m back in Los Angeles: Well, yā€™all, I did it! I finished my screenplay!!! Itā€™s taken literal years from when I first came up with the idea, but itā€™s finally done. I might tinker around with it a bit more, because I canā€™t help myself, but itā€™s complete enough that Iā€™ve already submitted it to a few fellowships.

This has been a classic case of ā€œit takes as long as it takes.ā€ Iā€™ve had a full draft of the thing since the summer of 2020, following every beat of my painstakingly plotted outline, but it was always missing ~something~. Well, I mean, at first it was missing about 20 pages, but I couldnā€™t figure out why: all the action was there! My main character did all the things I needed her to do, so why was it short? Last year, I added narration, and that helped, but it still needed five pages. Then, just this December, my therapist and I started talking about food and exercise and body image stuff. It wasnā€™t until my therapy session two weeks ago when I was talking about this writing trip that it finally clicked for me: what the script was missing was me. Itā€™s a dark comedy about a young mother who gets sucked into a fitness MLM that destroys her lifeā€“it was practically begging for me to use all this stuff Iā€™ve been talking about in therapy. It was SO obvious!

This shit always happens to me with fictional writing, though. Iā€™ll think Iā€™m making something silly up, completely off the top of my head, and then, months after itā€™s finished, Iā€™ll realize, ā€œOh, shit, that character was totally my mom.ā€ Do any other writers reading this go through this, too? Make me feel better about how obtuse I am about my own writing, please!

GIF: Marilyn Monroe taps on her own head and says, "Not very bright"

Letā€™s get into Some Things! I have lots of TV & film recs for you today to make up for all the makeup last time:

- First, Iā€™d like to give a giant THANK YOU to those of you who decided to become paid subscribers! If you missed out on the extra newsletter I sent out last time to paying subscribers only, you can get that and all the other juicy extras I have coming this year by upgrading your subscription using this button!

Thank you for your support! ā¤ļø Love you all.

- Physical: 100 (Netflix). Now for something completely off-brand! My husband, Ross, and I have been watching this South Korean fitness competition show in which 100 athletes with ā€œtop physiquesā€ compete for 300 million won, or about $250,000 USD. It was recommended on his Netflix profile, not mine, obviously. We have some issues with how the show is produced (it needs a host, their instant replays are annoying, and they spend too much time introducing all 100 contestants in the beginning), but itā€™s pretty interesting to see athletes with very different skill sets compete. They have everyone from CrossFitters to gymnasts to models to bodybuilders to baseball players, but theyā€™re not evenly matched in all situations. For instance, in the first challenge, the contestants have to hang from a set of bars that are lifted over water, the winner being whoever hangs on the longest. There are guys on the show with huge, bulging muscles who might win a wrestling challenge easily but who struggle when it comes to hanging onto their own body weight. I doubt this is supposed to be the take away, but to me, it shows that there is no one perfect body, even amongst the ā€œelite.ā€

One aspect of the show that cracks me up is that there are people on it who are very famous in South Korea who I could sit next to on a plane for eight hours and would have no idea who they are. The one exception is MMA fighter Choo Sung-hoon. I would still have no idea who he is, but I would know that heā€™s somebody. The guy just looks famous. He exudes celebrity energy. Since I live in L.A. and fly back and forth to New York a few times a year, there have definitely been times where Ross or a friend has turned to me and gone, ā€œWho is that over there? Thatā€™s definitely somebody.ā€ And then we figure out that itā€™s Sarah Paulson or Julia Garner or some famous athlete whose name I never retain (I will say, athletes are always easier to spot because theyā€™re just so much taller than everyone else). Fame is a funny thing. Some celebrities look like stars, and others just look like some guy. Who knew?

- Kaleidoscope (Netflix). I was intrigued by this heist mini-series starring Giancarlo Esposito, because the order of the episodes is presented differently for each Netflix account who watches it. I thought that was a cool idea, and an interesting way to incorporate the streaming platform itself into the creative direction of a show. And that WAS cool! However, I have to say, I wish the writing was about 25% better. It was a little cheesy at times, and I just think that Giancarlo Esposito deserves the world. (In case youā€™re interested, the order we watched it in was Green, Yellow, Violet, Orange, Blue, Red, Pink, White). If you watched, what did you think of the series?

GIF: Giancarlo Esposito says, "It's me, your favorite fastidious druglord."

- Emily the Criminal (Netflix). I loved this little movie starring Aubrey Plaza, about a woman with a mountain of student loans from art school and a police record from a series of poor decisions trying to get by in Los Angeles. Iā€™ve always thought of Aubrey Plaza as pretty much your typical UCB person who made good, but after watching this film I realized, hey, sheā€™s a pretty good actor, isnā€™t she? (Actually, I also thought she was fantastic in Happiest Season, but that role was much smaller and less emotionally demanding.) Check it out if you want a quick watch (itā€™s like 95 minutes long, bless it).

- The Menu (HBOMax). Oh my gosh, I adored this movie about an over-the-top pretentious fine dining restaurant. Itā€™s a really dark comedy, but I kept laughing out loud at it. It just got so many things right about the world of fine dining these days. Ralph Fiennes was obviously great as the head chef and owner, but I thought Hong Chau was hysterically on-point as the host/manager, too. My only advice is, donā€™t eat while youā€™re watching it, youā€™ll either be disappointed that youā€™re not eating a beautifully presented tasting menu, or grossed out by umā€¦ some of the things that happen.

- M3GAN (for rent on Prime Video). Wow, I guess Iā€™ve been watching a lot of dark content lately! This horror movie was one of the first pieces of narrative media Iā€™ve seen that did artificial intelligence in a satisfying way (the other one was that episode of Black Mirror with Mileyā€“so good!). I feel like, so often, A.I. in movies and TV shows is far-fetched in the way itā€™s presented and being used. Itā€™s not that I think this movie was 100% accurate as to our current technological capabilities, but it didnā€™t feel unreasonable. I had a screenwriting teacher who used to say, ā€œIt can be impossible, as long as itā€™s not illogical.ā€ Meaning, your movie can have elves and fairies and flying talking toasters in it as long as it doesnā€™t contradict the rules of the world itā€™s established. M3GAN is successful at playing by its own rules, IMO. Itā€™s an A.I. movie, itā€™s an evil doll movie, and itā€™s also pretty funny at times. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Alison Williams is so good at playing just the worst person.

GIF: M3gan, the doll, takes off her sunglasses

- The Last Of Us (HBOMax). Speaking of dark content: I watched exactly one episode of this zombie show based on the popular video game, because Ross had played the game and was all excited about the show, but it turns out that, like The Walking Dead, this show is too damn bleak for me. I donā€™t know about you, but I am just trying to get through the damn day over here without falling into despair, I donā€™t need to see the worst of humanity playing out in my entertainment. Besides, Iā€™ve always said that if I were in a global apocalypse scenario like a zombie attack, I would want to go out in the first wave. No way in hell am I going to be living like a damn pioneer, okay? I have no hard skills. I work in comedy. The hell am I supposed to do, be some kind of post-apocalyptic traveling bard? Fuck that shit! L8r!

- RuPaulā€™s Drag Race season 15 (for purchase on Prime Video, iTunes, etc). You know, I was going to write about how I havenā€™t really been feeling this season of Drag Race except for a few queens, but then I took a look at the cast list to make sure I was getting everyoneā€™s three names right (Iā€™m kidding, but also not), and I realized that I actually like a lot of the queens on this season! Loosey LaDuca has her comedy queen game face on, Marcia Marcia Marcia is such a fun character, Malaysia Babydoll Foxx and Mistress Isabelle Brooks are bringing it in face and cuuuurrrrvesss, honey, and everything Sasha Colby does screams ā€œlegend.ā€ (I know everyoneā€™s gaga for Luxx Noir London, too, but I personally think sheā€™s just okay, sheā€™s too typical of a Ru choice for meā€”young, thin, pretty.)

I think my main problem with the show is that theyā€™ve cut the episodes down to 42 minutes, so we barely get to know the queens! That really sucks. I feel like the big girls are REALLY bringing it this season, and it would be so cool to finally get a winner who brings some body diversity to the crown. I was going to say the same thing for age diversity, too, but then I found out that Sasha Colby is only one year older than me even though sheā€™s treated like some kind of grand dame, and now I need to lie down and take my Metamucil, be a dear and bring it to me, wonā€™t you?

- Iā€™ve really been enjoying Bon Appetitā€™s series ā€œThe Receipt,ā€ in which Americans at different income levels and budgets share their food diaries for a week and what they spent on all of it. Recently, they had a 23 year-old full-time student in Oregon who lives on food stamps, loans, and part-time work share his week in meals, and I thought it was super interesting. With the insane cost of groceries lately, it was inspiring to see how someone could eat relatively well with very little money. I mean, he does eat chicken thighs almost every day, but he had nice coffee and fresh bread and Tillamook dairy products.

Money can be so interesting. Ross and I were chatting with a friend of ours and it came up in a jokey way that we are some of his poorest friendsā€“not that weā€™re living below the poverty line, but heā€™s an Ivy League alum, and most of his friends are lawyers and finance guys. And yet, I know that with a different set of friends, we might be towards the top of the pack. Well, maybe, lol. At least in the middle. I think that we have done pretty well with what we haveā€“our apartment building can be annoying in a lot of ways, but weā€™re paying the same for a three bedroom with two baths that other people are paying for a one bedroom in the same neighborhood. We have always managed to luck out and find places with below-market rent. But we have also always spent a crazy amount of money on food in a week for two people, due to our terrible delivery habit. So maybe I should take a note from this dude in Bon Appetit and cook more chicken thighs.

GIF: Ally Beardsley says, "I paid for a bell pepper in DIMES"

- Okay, one final rec. Iā€™ve been working on a book of humorous personal essays (yay!) while also submitting my YA novel to agents (double yay!), and one resource that has been invaluable is Jane Friedmanā€™s blog. Ms. Friedman is a long-time vet of the publishing industry, and her blog is full of super helpful articles for writers trying to navigate the publishing process. Some that Iā€™ve been leaning on are:

She doesnā€™t just write all the entries, either, she has lots of guest writers who share their knowledge as well. If you are a writer with the goal of being published traditionally (or even non-traditionallyā€“she has articles on self-publishing as well), itā€™s well worth a look.

Okay folks, thatā€™s all she wrote!

Donā€™t forget to like, comment, and share this newsletter if youā€™d care toā€“you can use the buttons at the bottom or the top. You can also upgrade to a paid subscription if you want extra contentā€“thereā€™s a special button for you at the bottom of this email!

Until next timeā€”enclose your showers.

Love,

Liz

XOXO

Reply

or to participate.